skip navigation

Bantam Majors put together historic campaign

By Mark Mandernach, Chicago Blues Communications Director, 03/31/15, 7:30PM CDT


The Chicago Blues Bantam Major CSDHL team completed one of the most historic seasons in club history late Sunday night in Salt Lake City. The team’s season ended in a 3-1 loss in the USA Hockey 3A national semifinals. The defeat came at the hands of the Oakland (MI) Grizzlies, who a day later won the national title game.

The 2014-15 Bantam Majors were the fifth team to represent the Chicago Blues Hockey Club at the USA Hockey Nationals. Somehow this one felt different. Thanks to the power of the Chicago Blues’ social media platforms, the Bantam Majors had hundreds of fans who were rooting for the squad a time zone away. The evidence is the dozens of Facebook likes and comments and Twitter retweets.

When the semifinal clash ended at 10:05 p.m. (Mountain time) on Sunday night, a combination of pride and sadness was felt throughout the Chicago Blues Hockey Club.

“Our goal from day one was to win the national championship,” said Hockey Director Jeff Jones. “We came within one game of that goal, and I am proud of the way these kids represented themselves and the Chicago Blues Hockey Club.”

Here are just a few of the Bantam Major CSDHL team’s accomplishments in 2014-15:

  • No 1 seed at the Bantam AA level in the Blackhawk Cup. The team was 3-0-1 in the tournament, which culminated with a thrilling 2-1 double OT victory over the Leafs in front of a packed house at the Edge Ice Arena.
  • CSDHL regular season champions with an 18-1-5 and a 95-39 goal differential.
  • No. 4 national ranking according to

Congratulations to Hockey Director Jeff Jones, Head Coach Keith Schroeder and Team Manager Dana Vaca and the entire team for this outstanding achievement!

Bantam Major CSDHL roster

Sebastian Szeliga

Billy Paschen

David Trapani (G)

Conal O'Kane

Nicholas Schwandt

Alec Andras

Aidan Mann

Jason Stern

Jackson Vecchio

Easton Nicholson

Tyler Maggio

Natalia Marston (G)

Blake Vaca

Jesse Herr

Enrico Caruso

Connor Fullick